Best Paper Awards

The following papers won the Best Paper Award.

  • CS - Data-efficient Neuroevolution with Kernel-Based Surrogate Models. Adam Gaier, Alexander Asteroth, Jean-Baptiste Mouret.

CS Track

  • DETA+THEORY+GECH - Evolving Mario Levels in the Latent Space of a Deep Convolutional Generative Adversarial Network. Vanessa Volz, Jacob Schrum, Jialin Liu, Simon Lucas, Adam Smith, Sebastian Risi.


  • ECOM - Enhancing Partition Crossover with Articulation Points Analysis. Francisco Chicano, Gabriela Ochoa, Darrell Whitley, Renato Tinos.

ECOM Track

  • EML - Evolving Bagging Ensembles Using a Spatially-Structured Niching Method. Grant Dick, Caitlin Owen, Peter Whigham.

EML Track

  • EMO - A New R2 Indicator for Better Hypervolume Approximation. Ke Shang, Hisao Ishibuchi, Min-Ling Zhang, Yiping Liu.

EMO Track

  • ENUM - PSA-CMA-ES: CMA-ES with Population Size Adaptation. Kouhei Nishida, Youhei Akimoto.

ENUM Track

  • GA - Tunneling Between Plateaus: Improving on a State-of-the-Art MAXSAT Solver using Partition Crossover. Wenxiang Chen, Darrell Whitley, Francisco Chicano, Renato Tinos.

GA Track

  • GP - Program Synthesis using Uniform Mutation by Addition and Deletion. Thomas Helmuth, Nicholas McPhee, Lee Spector.

GP Track

  • RWA - Benchmarking Evolutionary Computation Approaches to Insider Threat Detection. Duc Le, Sara Khanchi, A. Nur Zincir-Heywood, Malcolm Heywood.

RWA Track

  • The list of Best Paper Nominees can be found here.